From SourceWatch
Jump to navigation Jump to search

The former Yugoslavia was a country in southeastern Europe on the Balkan Peninsula that broke up in the early 1990s with the fall of the Soviet Union, resulting in the new countries Serbia, Montenegro, Slovenia, Croatia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, and Macedonia. The country existed from 1918 to 1941, until in World War II, German-led forces invaded. It came back together again in 1945 until ethnic and political conflicts led to its second break up in 1991.

Yugoslavia was originally a monarchy ruled by The Karadjordjević family, initially a Serbian Royal House, then later the Royal House of the Serbs, Croats and Slovenes and most recently called the Royal House of Yugoslavia.

Many members of the Yugoslavian royal family live throughout Europe today including Prince Michel de Yougoslavie[1], Prince Dimitri de Yougoslavie,(both born June 18, 1958) Prince Sergius de Yougoslavie and Princess Helene de Yougoslavie (both born March 12, 1963). [2]


Related SourceWatch articles


  1. Michel de Yougoslavie
  2. Yugoslavia, Encarta, accessed April 2008.

External resources