From SourceWatch
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Euro is the name of the European single currency adopted by the European Council at its meeting in Madrid on 15 and 16 December 1995.

The area in which the euro has been adopted as the single currency in accordance with the treaty of the Economic and Monetary Union and in which a single monetary policy is conducted under the responsibility of the Governing Council of the ECB comprises Belgium, Germany, Greece, Spain, France, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Austria, Portugal and Finland.

The euro was introduced in bookform on 1/1/1999. On 1/1/2002 bills and coins were introduced.

External resources