From SourceWatch
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Cyprus is an island in the eastern Mediterranean Sea with a population of 965,000 and capital city of Nicosia. The island was divided in 1974 when Turkey invaded because it wanted to prevent the Greek military from making the island a part of Greece. Cypriots of Turkish background are in the northern third of the island and Cypriots of Greek background are in the southern two thirds with the dividing line being patrolled by United Nations soldiers. Only the southern two thirds, Republic of Cyprus, is recognized by the U.N. [1]


The BBC says of the country's media:

State-run services compete for audiences with a large number of private TV and radio stations. In addition, relays of Greek and Turkish stations are available across the island. Newspapers on both sides of the divide often criticise the authorities.[2]


  • Demetris Christofias, President, Communist Party, won by a large margin in February 2008
  • Mehmet Ali Talat, Turkish Cypriot leader, from the centre-left Republican Turkish Party, won election in 2005



  1. Cyprus, National Geographic, accessed March 2008.
  2. Country profile: Cyprus, BBC, accessed March 2008.

External articles

External resources