Association of Southeast Asian Nations

From SourceWatch
(Redirected from ASEAN)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

The Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) was established August 8, 1967, in Bangkok by the five original Member Countries, namely, Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, and Thailand. Brunei Darussalam joined January 8, 1984, Vietnam on July 28, 1995, Laos and Myanmar on July 23, 1997, and Cambodia on April 30, 1999. [1]


"The ASEAN Declaration states that the aims and purposes of the Association are: (i) to accelerate the economic growth, social progress and cultural development in the region through joint endeavours in the spirit of equality and partnership in order to strengthen the foundation for a prosperous and peaceful community of Southeast Asian nations, and (ii) to promote regional peace and stability through abiding respect for justice and the rule of law in the relationship among countries in the region and adherence to the principles of the United Nations Charter." [2]

Member Countries

Contact Information

The ASEAN Secretariat
70A, Jalan Sisingamangaraja
Jakarta 12110
Tel : (6221) 7262991, 7243372
Fax : (6221) 7398234, 7243504
Email : public AT

External links